Reviews

 

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Thank you for providing such a comfortable and welcoming piece of Venice for us to enjoy.  We loved riding the bikes and getting to feel part of the Venice vibe.  The touches of Christmas were also very much appreciated.  We have had a wonderful family holiday and the cottage has been a perfect base from which we have explored LA.

A family from Brisbane, Australia      December 2017

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

We absolutely adore this house at the beach.  We love the diversity and open-mindedness – seriously our favorite spot in LA.  Joe and Mark – thank you for being helpful when needed.  If we ever get a chance, we will be back here – the house is a super place to live – all necessary commodities.  We love cookery.  The kitchen is super equipped.

A family from Denmark      November 2017

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Everything was just great. Joe is very friendly and responsive. He even found a parking space for our van which would not fit into the included one. Our kids loved to have boogie boards and bikes. Thanks, for this wonderful vacation.

A family from Barsinghausen, Germany      October 2017

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

We enjoyed our stay very much, lovely house and lovely garden! Everything with reservations and arrival went extremely smoothly and it seemed like Joe had thought of everything that we could need. The noise from a next door construction site was unfortunate but didn´t bother us too much.

Friends from Oslo, Norway      September 2017

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

We loved our stay in Venice Beach Cottage. The house is wonderful and the location is very good, next to the beach. Joe and Mark were very welcoming and helpful. The house was enough for five people and it is well-appointed. We were very happy to stay here and we would like stay longer ! Thanks a lot to welcome us so kindly. The return to France was so hard !!

A family from Lyon, France        August 2017

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Fantastic location if you want to be near both Venice Beach and Santa Monica. There are restaurants and fun things to do all around. The beach is only 1.5 blocks away and an easy walk on the boulevard (no cars on the boulevard). Having Joe and Mark on the same property was great! They took care of everything and it made us feel safe and taken care of while staying there. I had coffee every morning in the cute yard. The bathroom was fantastic and the kitchen has everything we needed to entertain. We filled the house with our big family and made many fantastic memories. Great trip!

A family from Cincinnati, OH       June 2017

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

This Cottage Beach House was a perfect fit for me and three girlfriends to relax, explore, and take in everything Venice has to offer. We especially enjoyed borrowing two bicycles and renting two more nearby for a 30-mile ride along the coast. We also took advantage of walking close by for Abbot Kinney’s First Fridays – fantastic variety of food trucks, shopping, and live music. A cozy house in a great location, with comfortable gathering spaces in the living room and kitchen. Many thanks for the wonderful hospitality! Highly recommend.

Four girlfriends from Kansas City, MO     May 2017

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

The cottage was wonderful and better than described. We loved walking to the beach and to the many great restaurants. The setup at the house was perfect for our family of 5. The kids loved having their own beds and space. The garden was lovely to hang out and soak up the sun. The highlight was getting to meet Diego the talking parrot! Mark and Joe were wonderful hosts and I would highly recommend for a family.

A mom from Seattle     April 2017    

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

We loved our stay there! Ideal location, 2 blocks from the beach (and btwn Main St and Abbot Kinney !!!) kindest hosts, always available if we need them, and very caring! We felt like home. Ideal for parents with young kids, or families. We miss it already.

A young director from Paris     February 2017

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Joe and Mark are absolutely fantastic hosts. We felt like we were family the whole time we stayed in this wonderful Venice cottage, so close to the ocean and the attractions of the area. We could not have asked for more! To give some details, we were 2 adults and 2 kids and had everything we needed in the house and more. Communication was extremely pleasant and easy, and if there was anything to be fixed Joe and Mark took care of it right away (almost immediately!). We appreciated having several bicycles at our disposal to ride Venice board walk, as well as extra blankets for winter nights. We had a full range of satellite channels, a separate backyard with a grill and an enormous palm tree, separate entrance and a fully equipped kitchen. We always felt so safe knowing Joe and Mark are close and we can always rely on them for help and advice. My kids made friends with their smart beautiful talking macaw Diego… We wish we could stay longer!

A math professor from Washington, DC     September/December 2016

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

This place is a DREAM! The house is so beautiful, and Joe is the friendliest, most considerate host you could ever ask for. This really is the perfect rental to stay in while you explore Venice – you’ll never want to leave!

A writer from New York     March/April 2016

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

This was a wonderful place to stay, with an excellent location and a very charming house. The house is extremely thoughtfully equipped, with everything you might need ranging from bikes, to boogie boards, to sunglasses. And the small garden area in the front of the house is amazing. Joe was an excellent host and I hope to stay here again soon!

A teacher from Arkansas     May/June 2015

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Joe and Mark were very helpful hosts and available both before and during our stay, without being intrusive at all. The cottage is even better than the pictures and just to our taste, which is for solid, charming, classic homes with good bones but all of the modern amenities. We really enjoyed the book of walking tours in LA and there were many other good reading materials and a great notebook of suggestions for restaurants, parks, etc. You can walk easily to MainStreet Santa Monica/Venice/Abbot Kinney or to the beach which is a block and a half away. The yard is fenced and private with a lovely garden. We really made use of the cruiser bikes to ride the beach path , only about a mile to the Santa Monica or nice piers. You have the best of both Venice and Santa Monica.We would highly recommend this cottage . Having a parking place is so helpful, especially since you will only need your car if you are exploring outside of the Santa Monica/Venice area.

A traveler from Portland      March 2015

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

My wife and I and three teenage daughters just enjoyed a three night stay at Joe’s cottage. It was perfect for us with each of the girls getting their own single bed. The bathroom is modern, the kitchen is well set up and there was plenty of room for all of us. Joe was waiting for us when we checked in. The pictures and description is accurate and I would definitely recommend it to families. We would stay again if back in Venice Beach. Thanks Joe!

A father from Calgary     February 2015

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

We had an amazing time at the cottage. Very homey, beautifully decorated and close to Venice Beach Boardwalk which we loved. About a 25 min walk to Santa Monica which we also loved doing almost every day. We loved using the bikes and boogie boards provided and loved sitting in the tranquil front garden complete with a few squirrels! Thank you so much Joe and Mark for your hospitality. We didn’t want to leave our Californian bungalow! We will definitely recommend to friends and family xx

A young mom from Australia    January 2015

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

We stayed in Joe’s cottage for almost a month and had a wonderful time! The cottage is situated very close to the beach, but not too close in the sense that the place is quiet and feels peaceful. The indoor fireplace is a nice detail this time of year. As also others have remarked, the place is actually bigger than what the pictures may indicate. There were five of us staying, and that worked very well. The little garden is beautifully designed and secluded, with a nice barbecue corner, where we prepared our Christmas steak. Returning to the cottage one afternoon, we found a basket of ripe lemons waiting for us, adding to our feeling of being at home. All in all, we were wonderfully taken care of by our hosts.

A professor from Sweden     December 2014

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Joe was a excellent host. Great comunication before and during the stay. Mark and Joe, we loved your house and we want to come back some day. I traveled with my husband, my two brothers and sister and all went perfect 🙂 The house is very close to the beach and you can easily walk to Santa Monica. Portuguese: Joe foi um anfitrião excelente. Ótima comunicação antes e durante a estadia. Mark e Joe, nós amamos a casa de vocês e esperamos voltar um dia. Eu viajei com meu marido, meus dois irmãos e minha irmã e tudo foi perfeito 🙂 A casa é bem perto da praia e você pode andar facilmente até Santa Monica.

A journalist and producer from Brasil     November 2014

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Joe was there waiting for us when we arrived from the UK late in the evening. He was gracious, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Joe explained how everything worked, made sure we were settled in and remained attentive throughout our weeks stay. His property is absolutely wonderful – great location, very quaint yet with all mod cons. If you want a great beach location with many bars and restaurants a safe walk away then look no further. Joe completely opens his property up to you – live the Venice lifestyle!

A mom from the UK     October 2014

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

6 out of 5 stars! I stayed in more than 7 different locations in LA and this has been by far the best place. Our expectations have been significantly exceed in every criteria. Friends visited me for a barbecue and were excited about the unique beauty of this place as well! Book this place, it can’t get better!

A business traveler from Germany     October 2014

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Joe met us on arrival and it was very late in the day. He made us feel so welcome our entire stay. Joe had bought us groceries so that we could snack that night and be prepared for breakfast. The cottage is gorgeous and spacious and for you mums out there the washing machine and dryer are top notch. For our family of four we each had a bike. The location is magnificent and 2 mins to the beach and shops/restaurants. Santa Monica is a bike ride away and we did that 3 times over our week. There is an amazing organic supermarket. We visited by bike and car. I’ve never seen anything like it. Our hosts were so accommodating we loved it and I will recommend to my Aussie mates who frequent LA. After visiting Hollywood, themeparks etc, there is no better place to come home to. I wish we could have stayed another week.

A family from Australia     September 2014

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Joe was a great host, and an excellent piano player! He met me out back within 1 minute of arriving to give me the keys, then took me on a 10 minute tour of the house. Everything we needed was in place. The neighborhood was very quiet at night, safe, and a 3 minute stroll to the beach. There were great food options for me and my family, all within walking distance.

A military veteran from NYC     September 2014

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Joe was the perfect host. Just a lovely person, who couldn’t have been more thoughtful and considerate. That thoughtfulness was expressed throughout the cottage as well. Little touches, like the gas grill, the maps and personal reviews of nearby eateries, and the well-appointed kitchen made it feel like home away from home. We will be back!

An internet designer from Oakland      June/July 2014

starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4starfish transparent background copy_4

Joe could not possibly have been a better host. The home is so comfortable and pretty, and Joe clearly wants his guests to enjoy the home as well as the area. We have four children and he was so warm and welcoming to our big family. We all cannot wait to come again for another magical week at the Venice Beach Cottage!

A family from Marin County       June  2014

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave